Bzabek's Blog

Getting Connected

RichardCh4

I’ve been looking things up on Wikipedia for awhile now never knowing that is wasn’t a normal encyclopedia. I’d never heard of a wiki and just assumed that the name was short for “wicked” encyclopedia or something because it was so awesome. I feel stupid. However, I think Wikipedia is even more wicked now that I know how it really works! At first I was shocked and worried that what I had been reading might not have been the truth.  But…Richardson convinced me otherwise by his argument on how individual vandalism is quickly corrected by the immense collective whole. This concept is so revolutionary I wonder what it will mean for publishing in general. The speed at which information is gathered and spread is so much faster than the printing press and the idea of limitless authors brings up the question of copyright. Our society has been so transformed by the internet just in the past 10 years I wonder where we are headed next.

1 Comment»

  jess wrote @

Indeed, it is a fascinating time that calls for a solid set of analytical thinking skills to successfully negotiate.

dc


Leave a comment